Mo'Ments for Brass Quintet and Marimba/Percussion

Moments was commissioned by the Ventura Chamber Music Festival and was premiered on May 12, 2001 by the Crown City Brass Quintet: Rob Frear, Marty Fenton-Frear, trumpets; Bruce Hudson, horn; Andy Malloy, trombone; Norm Pearson, tuba and Judy Valencerina, marimba/percussion. It is a three movement work (fast-slow-fast). Movement one, 'N Trap Ments, begins with a fanfare and settles into a lighthearted and (at times) a mildly dissonant march with much interplay between the brass and marimba. The second movement, 'N Tice Ments, is a slow ballad that opens and closes with a haunting low brass trio. The finale, 'N Tangle Ments is a fast, odd-meter romp with a latin middle section.

- Jim Self

(A Wind Band version is available from the composer).

Solo parts included: trumpet in C 1+2, horn in F, tombone, tuba, marimba/percussion

Score included

SKU: 60065
Weight: 0.72 lb

Product Information

Main Category: